“Destiny” He Called It

“Destiny” he would call it. Destiny.

Out of nowhere he came into my life. Not aware of the role he would play, I assumed he would just be some good company. Quickly though, I realized that was not all he would be, he would be much, much more.

He wasn’t as smooth as the rest of the guys I had talked to, he was just himself. Right from the beginning it was all about honesty and being so upfront I couldn’t tell whether he was sincere or just wanted to scare me off.  If his plan was the ladder, it surely didn’t work. I was his and he was mine. There was nothing that could make me dream like our future could; Some kids, a dog and a white picket fence, life seemed unstoppable.

Bad boy from the start, and me, the perfect little church going girl,  I was drawn to him like moth to a flame. He was an auto mechanic who ran his dads store with dazzling blue eyes, broad shoulders and a whole lot of muscle.  I was his Baby and he was my Johnny Castle.

Soon the everyday chats  turned into something more. He wanted to run away with me, make me his. I never had heard of a plan that gave me butterflies the way his did.  I fell in love. He fell in love. It was inevitable

Our families would never approve, we both knew that.  But it couldn’t stop us. We were everything in each others eyes. Life wouldn’t be easy. We would fight and argue till our face turned blue, neither willing to back down, but our love for each other was too strong. No matter how angry, how furious we got one kiss could change it all. Make the whole world stop spinning. Change the tides.

Never had I dreamed of such a love like ours. Never had I felt such happiness. Never had I believed I could feel this much. It was all so ….powerful? magical?

And then he said, “No love, it was destiny.”

Leave a comment